Goodness gracious. Time does get away from me!  I’m going to make a grab for it and put it in a neck hold for just a minute so we can catch up.  Ready?  And GO

Chickens?  Good.  Finally starting to pick  up with egg laying again, after seriously calling it in this winter.  Major slackers in the coop. Some of my girls are getting on up in the years, so their production is dropping off.  And cold, wet weather with short days do not make a plethora of eggs.  However, I do have about 10 or 12 young hens who are not far from joining the rotation.  They’re all wild as can be, too, because I haven’t spent much time with them.  Like, they have returned to the feral ways of their Jungle Fowl ancestors.  It’s tribal in there.  CRAY-CRAY.  But, as long as they lay, they stay.  Actually, that sounds like a motivational sign I need to paint for the coop.  You Lay, You Stay.  Ha.

After losing my sweet Annabel to a possum (don’t even, I still can’t), we decided to get a Livestock Guardian Dog (LGD).  Actually, he’s half Great Pyrenees, so we got half of an LGD.  🙂  But so far, so good.  His name is Pete and he is a giant goofy baby and we love him.  I’ll have to put some pictures up.  He barks at everything that has ever existed or will exist, so we haven’t seen any possums in months.  RIP, Annabel.

King Pen has taken over many of the chicken duties for me like a CHAMP.  I’ve been pretty wrapped up in some other projects, which is why you aren’t seeing pictures of chickens flooding your FB and Instagram feeds from me.  I’ll be glad when things settle down and I can hang out in the coop more.  There’s drama going on that I just KNOW I am missing.  And there ain’t no drama like chicken drama, I kid you not.

As for other projects, the kids are involved in a production of Mary Poppins and that means my world is revolving around rehearsals and I CAN’T STOP SINGING SPOONFUL OF SUGAR.  For months, guys.  And we speak in proper upper class British accents now, all the time, because once ‘you staht, you con’t stop, deah.’  But it’s fun.  Kids are working hard and I’m burning up the roads and it’ll all be awesome and fun and wonderful and you just keep saying that over and over and over for three months.  Ha.

We’re also doing another, smaller show, and this one I’m actually in.  (I know, I’m ridiculous).  But it’s singing!!  And speaking!!  And dancing!! And with my daughter!!  So, add another night (or two) of rehearsals to the week.

And now I’m embarrassed, because there’s a teeny tiny bit more that I’m doing.  One night a week, I’m taking a beginner’s American sign language class.  I’ve been learning on my own for a while, but really needed an instructor and classroom setting.  It’s about the coolest thing I’VE EVER DONE.  I show up every Tuesday  on the front row with my pencil super sharp and my book highlighted and I do a few stretches before class to warm up. (I wish I was kidding.  But I’m not.  I am that much the nerd.)

So, that’s what’s up with me.  My dance ticket is full, full, full, but it’s all good.  Sorry I’ve been so absent!  I’ll try to sneak away periodically and update my blog, so don’t delete the bookmark just yet.  🙂

Happy Friday, y’all!

 

 

 

