“There are three things which are too wonderful for me, Four which I do not understand: The way of an eagle in the sky, The way of a serpent on a rock, The way of a ship in the middle of the sea, And the way of a man with a maid.” Proverbs 30:19

Eighteen years I have learned the wonders of the ways between a man and a maid.  I have seen love stretched and tested and enduring. I have seen it soaring and flying, I’ve seen it hanging on and surviving.  I’ve seen it come easily and quickly, and other times fought for, bought with heart aches and forgiveness and reconciliation.  I’ve seen it shine like a brand new penny, I’ve seen it flickering bravely in dark places.  I’ve seen it change, over and over.  The endless seasons of love coming and going and transforming us, year after year after year.   It becomes fuller and more bodied as it ages.  It becomes something so difficult to describe that we stop trying.  It becomes so intimate and personal, that you don’t often see movies or novels written about the 18th year of being in love.  But this is a loss to us, as we love past our honeymoons and newlywed days.  Let the world hear, love is rich and amazing and reborn in us a thousand times over our lives. Let this little verse rival the lines of Romeo and Juliet.  Let me challenge Paris and Helen.  What can be known of love can’t be gathered in such brief moments as theirs.  Though truly, even a life time wouldn’t be long enough to know all the wonders of love.

Summer in my heart

Though winter rages ’round

Sunshine on my skin

Though rain keeps falling down.

.

Music in my ears

When fades away the tune,

Stars in my sky,

When hidden is the moon.

.

Sweetness on my lips

Though bitterness may be fed,

Warmth in my bones

Though long the fire dead.

.

Fullness in all my wanting

Safety in all my fears

Joy in every sorrow,

With you in all my years.

