Here we are, on the eve of a new school year.  Lesson plans have been prepared.  Pencils sharpened to fine points.  New books wait to be read, workbooks crisp and empty.  It is quiet and clean in here. 

All is ready.

It’s one of my favorite feelings in the whole world. As much as I enjoy summer, I really do miss schooling with my kids over the break.  I miss teaching them, and learning with them.  I love the converging of the five unique minds and spirits that homeschooling gives us.  I love these faces around the kitchen table.  I am privileged to look upon them, and into them, day after day. True, individual studies throughout our schooling day will scatter us about a bit, especially as some of my students are advancing.  But there are many moments when we are all there, together, and we’re a system in harmony.  Crazy harmony, sometimes.  But we’re US, and there’s nothing else quite like it.  

Homeschooling can be challenging, I’ll not deny that.  There are days of self doubt and anxiety.  Times when I am overwhelmed or frustrated and I desperately need a “do over.”  But those off days are like little gnats I just shoo away.  They can’t spoil the blessing of this long, bright and sunny day.   I wouldn’t trade this experience for anything, I really wouldn’t.  I’ll do it, year after year, First Day after First Day, until there are none left to be had. 

And when the Last Day of the Last Days comes (I can hardly even envision that far off moment), I will thank God for the journey He put me on. I will bless Him for the life He destined to me, (because it surely is my life, it is not something that can be done to the side.)

I will praise Him then, as I do right this very moment,  for the strength and patience during the hard days, and the joy and pleasure of the good days.  I will, above all, be grateful for the time He allowed me with His gifts.  Thousands of hours knowing them, making memories with them, sharing in the people they become.  It is an honor I know I am not worthy of, but I will take without hesitation.

As my students lay down in their beds tonight, somewhat moaning the loss of their summer freedoms (and who can blame the poor dears), I will lay on my own pillow with a little flutter in my own heart.  For tomorrow is the First Day of another school year.

And all is ready.

