And now, in chicken news:

Our babies are two weeks old, and starting to feather out more fully.  They sure are pretty!  Oh, you want to see some pictures?  Well, let me get out my chicken brag book right here…

See?  Aren’t they purty?  Don’t you loooove them?  Let me add here- you think taking pictures of small children is hard?  Oh my goodness.  Getting a chick to stay still is impossible.  Scientifically impossible.  They are little blurs of fuzz whizzing by the lens.  I took 4, 529 pictures to get these three.  Rascals.

We call the younger chicks “the babies”, and our first batch are “the girls.”  The girls are now 13 weeks old, and look like mini chickens.  Aw, so grown up:

Pretty sure they are Golden Comets, going on appearance.  They are a cross of Rhode Island Reds and something else, and will be good layers of brown eggs.  I picked them up from a local guy and didn’t think to ask him specifically at the time!  They are still developing their waddles and combs, but they are very chickeny now!  Their clucking and fussing amuses me far more than it should. They eat table scraps (every time I come walking up, they expect me to have some treat) and are busy foraging in their temporary chicken run during the day.

We still keep them separate, until the babies are big enough to survive the “pecking order” system, probably a month or so.  The babies are Easter Eggers, Silver Laced Wyandottes, and Buff Orpingtons.  We kept one roo that was mailed with those chicks to keep them warm.  I think he’s a black star, and he seems a day or two behind the others in size. He better grow up to be a nice boy, that’s all I have to say.  I remind him every day.  Nice roosters get to live.  Mean roosters go into the stew pot.

So all together, we have 13 in our flock.  The EE will lay multicolored eggs, pinks, greens, maybe a blue?  The other three breeds will lay nice sized brown eggs.  Chickens start laying around 24 weeks, and once we get them going, we’ll have more than we know what to do with!
It’s very exciting.  (um, right?  Or has my radar for thrilling activity become seriously skewed?  Possible.)

King Pen and I had a good discussion the other day about what my “vision” is.  I told him I’d like the opportunity to try lots of different animals, and I listed a few.  Rabbits, maybe goats or a pig, poultry of course.  But ultimately, I’d love to have a milk cow.  Way, way, way down the line.  I am new to animal keeping, so I have a long way to go before I’m up for something with hooves.  🙂  But I would love to provide as much of our own food as possible.  I daydream about it, and I haven’t had a good juicy daydream in a long time.  Not since King Pen was in school, and we were daydreaming of him being licensed and being his own boss.  Even then, it was a lovely dream, but this is more personal to me.  I lay in bed at night thinking about barns and fences and knowing these animals from their beginning to my plate.  Is that weird?  I want to provide the best possible food for our family, and the best possible life for our food.  You don’t need me to talk about the inhumane and unsanitary conditions of the meat and food industries.  We all know it.  Well, here’s a chance to change that, a little bit, in my corner of the world.  So, we’re gonna give it a try.  It’s a grand experiment!  And a new page to turn in the blog as well.  Wondergirl, the Homesteading Years.  Gonna be an adventure!

Happy Monday, y’all.  Hope it’s a good one.

Cluck.

 

 

 

