On the day I was born, the sun set in the sky.  I never thought to ask my mother if it was a sunny day, or a rainy one.  All I know, is that I was born, and on that day, the sun rose, and set.

On the day I got my first pair of glasses and really SAW the world for the first time, it did the same.  It rose, and it set.  I saw it better.

On the day I got a prank call from some mean girls from my school, who called me four eyes and buck tooth, the sun rose.  And it set.

On the day I was a duchess in a school musical and wore a beautiful pink chiffon gown and felt pretty, and not buck toothed at all, the sun rose.  And it set.

On the day I married my husband,

watched two towers in flames,

learned I was pregnant,

learned I wasn’t,

birthed a baby,

lost myself,

and got found again….

the sun rose, and it set.

It always does, it always has, and it always will.  No matter what happens between its comings and goings– the sun will never fail us.  The worst day of our life, the best day- the beginning day and our ending day– the sun will rise, and then it will set.  Whether it is hidden by clouds, or shines so brightly it burns our eyes, it is always in the sky.  Every tomorrow will have sun up and sun down.

Because God has made it so.  Every morning, God crooks His finger to motion, “up”, and there it is.  At the end of the day, He tips a finger “down”, and there it goes.  He has never, in all of existence, not done this.  It is so ingrained in us that we have a little saying, “as sure as the sun will rise.”

Because it IS sure.

Because God is sure.  He has never failed in His duties, in His promises, in His presence– and He reminds us of that at the beginning of each new day, and at its closing.  What a love letter He has painted in the sky for us.  I am with you.  I will never leave you, nor forsake you.  He wants that to be our first thought of the day, and our last thought of the night.  Wow.

I’ll never get over that.

Happy day’s end, my friends.  Hope your sunrise is spectacular tomorrow.

