shancam

My sister took this picture of me on a photo trip last year to New Orleans.

I didn’t even realize she took it at the time, but, I love that she did.  There are only a handful of pictures of me in existence, actually!  Ha.  I am so often the one taking the photos that I hardly creep into them myself.  But this one… this is me, and it’s a me I don’t want to forget.  Who I am when I’m with my sisters, my mom.  Who I am in faded jeans and a camera in my hand.  Who I am sitting on a curb, with long hair, in a city that is full of life.  I am this girl, but she doesn’t have center stage anymore.

Nice to know she’s still there, though.

Funny, five or ten years ago, I would have agonized over her.  I would have fretted over her frequent absences.  But I get it now.  Thank goodness!  Who needs all that angst and panic?

This girl is still here, she pops in when it’s convenient.  I’ve got a dozen WonderGirls and they all get a turn eventually.  Nothing to worry over– quite the opposite.  I can just wait, and enjoy the revolving door.  Took a while to figure that one out, but I’m so glad I did.

I do love the perspective of your mid-to-late 30’s.  It’s just… cool.  It’s a relief, after the uncertainty of the 20’s.

Okay, I gotta go make some lunch magic.  Y’all have a good weekend!

