I had a beautiful moment today. 

I have been struggling with this writing project, not finding the time for it, but trying to understand what I’ve got to say.  I’ve always fallen apart when I start to formally write, with purpose- as in, creating a story and seeing it through.  I just haven’t been able to find my direction.

Until today.  Today, that magic moment happened that sometimes happens when I’m writing a blog post.  I don’t know how to explain it, other than that occasionally (certainly not all the time!) something slides into place, a sentence that writes itself, a thought that emerges from the cloud of words in my mind…and I am writing from a distance, watching it happen.

It’s a wonderful, euphoric feeling.  I write for those moments. 

Today, for the first time ever, that didn’t just happen with words– it happened with an idea.  When it came, it was exactly, perfectly right.  It fit me like nothing else ever has.  It is the natural conclusion of everything I’ve ever felt, and ever written. It is where all roads have been leading.

I know how I sound.

But, I can’t minimize this feeling, not even for a minute.  It’s the most overwhelming moment of my whole writing journey.  I found the why.  I want to write this, and I want you to know it’s not me.  It’s not about talent, or grammar, or vocabulary.  It’s not about being published, or having a career, or a readership, or anything.  This is more “not about me” than I’ve ever been before.  I just want to write those magic moments– the ones that aren’t mine.  I just want to answer that call I heard today, the call of a story that matters. 

I wanted to share that with you.  Pray with me, that I don’t get in the way, that I’m not too scared, that God will bless this endeavor. 

 

 

 

