I took this picture on vacation this year, in Destin.

I don’t know who these people were; I don’t even remember what they looked like.

But it’s perfect.

It’s you and your sweetie.

It’s me and mine.

It’s your parents, or your friends, or someone on the other side of the world.

It’s you fifty years ago.  It’s me in fifteen years. It’s your great-grandparents, or your child all grown up.

It’s you with your kids running ahead in the sand.  It’s me before there were any kids at all.

It’s a honeymoon, it’s an anniversary, it’s a reconciliation.

It’s the sun setting on love, anyone’s love.

Not every day ends with hand holding on the beach, it’s true.  But the sun sets everywhere, and it’s always beautiful when you are sharing it with the person you love.

*File under A Happy, Sappy Kind of Wife

