I prayed for you today. As you knelt over shoes to tie, as you made lunches, as you kissed boo-boos, as you sought patience sufficient to your tasks, I prayed for you, my sister.

I don’t know if you are a Christian or not, though I earnestly hope it. I prayed that you would be drawn closer to God, that you would grow in your knowledge of Him. I prayed that you are His, and if you are not, that He will claim you. I prayed that your eyes and ears will be open to Him, that He will be utterly irresistible to you! I prayed that He will strengthen you, guide you, as you mother today.

Because those little ones you are tending, well, they will one day be dear to me. Four girls, and a boy, playing somewhere out there in the world right now, will one day, God willing, find their way into our life. You and I share  the matching pieces of a set. Your daughter will meet my son, and he will never be the same. Your son will meet my daughter, and get his socks knocked off. All the years of work and effort that you’ve put in, that I’ve put in- it will all come to that moment. I am trusting that one day, our children will be a gift to each other, and to our families. I want to give a good husband to your daughter, a fine wife to your son. It is my heart’s desire.

So, know that I’m praying for you, just like I’m praying for me. I know it’s hard. It’s hard over here, too. But God is faithful, He has a plan, and He will do mighty things when we persevere.

 

“And let us not grow weary while doing good, for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart. Gal. 6:9”

 

What a season that will be.

 

PS.  I know that not everyone is appointed to marriage, and above all, I want my children to follow God’s direction in their life.  I do pray, though, that God’s plans for the them will be to enjoy this wonderful blessing of marriage!  Why wouldn’t I?  It has been such a treasure to their mother.

