Are you there, blog?  It’s me, WonderGirl.

I am finally forcing myself to sit still for ten minutes and write out a post.  I’ve been wanting  to catch up for a while now, but haven’t found the time to do it properly.  That’s always the way our summer goes!  We have bible schools, traveling, you name it.  Actually, we’re still doing school, too.  We will finish up by the end of this month, have a few weeks off, then we’ll be starting up our new year August 16.  I’ve just started working on lesson plans and whatnot this week, and that always gets me excited about the new year.  This year, Czarina will be in 6th grade, HeroBoy in 3rd, the Duke in 1st.  And I’ll do some light K4 with Chipmunk.  I’m sure I’ll be writing more about that in the next few weeks.

But for now, I don’t feel like it.

To be honest, I don’t know what I want to write about these days.

I know better than to think that I can throw in the towel on this blog– I’ve tried that a few times, and it’s never what I really want.  I always come back sheepishly, hat in hand, knowing what I’ve known all along:  Writers can’t not write.  (Ha!)  But it’s true.  I will be 94 years old, and still blogging– though I might have to change WonderGirl to WonderGrandma or something.  (Maybe by then, I’ll have worked up a wittier name than that!)

The question is not IF I will write, but WHAT I will write.  What do I have to say?  This blog used to be much more biographical.  You knew what my day looked like, who my children are, what I am making and doing and eating and wearing.  Now Facebook knows all that stuff.  (grrr)  So instead of sharing that here, now you know how I feel about my faith, my God, my family, all those deeper subjects, that honestly, just wear you out after a while.  I don’t want to write about those things all the time, but that’s what happens. They are good things, don’t get me wrong.  Important.  I work out so much of what I believe by writing here, and I don’t want to lose that.  But, I feel like only half of the story comes out on the Sift nowadays.

I need to find my balance again.

I’m not sure how to do that, but I’m going to be thinking about it.

I know it will mean more writing, for one thing.  More time, yes, but really, more vulnerability.  Somewhere along the way, a little wall has gone up.  And it’s time for it to come down.

So, that’s today’s brick.  Removed, broken, torn down.  And now, we can see each other just a little better.

It’s a good start.

Have a happy day, everybody.

 

 

 

