I love when I find an unexpectedly empty hour on my hands… how to fill it? Catch up on a phone call? Blog? Write a letter?

Blog.

So life has been good. I’m slowly gaining ground on, well, existence, I guess. Major cleaning projects are complete, several medium sized household projects are in the works, schooling, socializing, exercising, family-fying– it all seems to be moving at a nice pace. I don’t know what has brought it about, but for the past month or so, we’ve basically hit “reboot” on everything. We’re getting this house in order, physically, emotionally, spiritually. I have worked harder than I ever have before, I think. And guess what? I’m happier than I’ve ever been.

Work=happiness.

Maybe I should revise that equation.

Surrender to Work= Happiness.

The thing is, I’m going to do the work. That’s just me. But how am I going to do it? I can fight it, grumble about it, making myself and my family completely miserable.

Or, I can look at it, this massive amount of effort it takes to keep a household of 7 running smoothly– and dig in. My day starts, and I see myself heading out into the field. I will work all day, hoeing, planting, harvesting. I will work till my muscles ache, till there is sweat on my brow, because this is what needs to be done.  This is what I’m called to, this is what feeds my family, this is my purpose. And at the end of the day, I stop, I go home, I eat and bathe and rest. And get ready to do it all again tomorrow.

That image doesn’t sound all that motivating, does it? But it is for me. I am encouraged by the fact that my two hands are producing something, even if they are just washing the same loads of laundry and dishes every day.  When I brush teeth, and wipe faces, when I make peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, when I teach and instruct and discipline and sing and dance and hug and repeat all these things over and over– I am in the field.  I am laboring at life, and it is good and fruitful.

Working this way has caused me to appreciate my life so much.  When I eat a good meal, when I soak in a hot tub, when I laugh at my kids, when I hum along to my favorite song, when I look over at the man who works with me– oh Lord, thank You for this life.  Thank You for this field, and these two hands to work it.  Never do I want to roll over and sleep through my life, ignoring the joy that comes from waking with the sun and working in the light.

God does amazing things when we surrender to whatever it is we’re resisting.  For me, it was work.  He took it, and turned it into joy.  What?!  That’s the last thing I was expecting.  He made it a lovable thing in my life.  He loves working like that, with a certain merry irony that only He can create.  You just know He smiles as we realize what He’s done.

He’s good.  Always good to His children.  We just have to trust Him.

Well, that’s all I have for now.  Time to get back to it.  Hope you all have a wonderful weekend, and I’ll check back in when another unexpectedly free hour pops up again.  (See?  In the midst of working, God still gives us time for playing!)

