Last week, we had a motto.  Every day we woke up and said, “Today is gonna be a great day!”  We used a little reminder for ourselves- every time we drank something, we said it again.  “Today is shaping up to be a great day!”

Guess what?

We had a great week.

I knew that would happen.  So many times, we forget that it’s all about perspective.  Having a good attitude.

All this house cleaning lately has got me looking at the bigger picture of my life, the areas that need attention and tidying up.  Spiritually, emotionally, financially- I’ve been taking stock of what needs a little work.  It seems that the more work I do, the more I find to do!  I’m not complaining, though.  It actually feels really, really good to apply myself to these needs in our life. It’s long overdue.

So, with this new leaf we’ve turned over, besides all the organizing and decluttering going on over here, we’re choosing a different theme each week to work on.  Last week, it was about changing our attitude about the day.  This week, it’s No Grumbling Week.  Hebrews 2:14-16a tells us why:

“Do all things without grumbling or questioning, that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world,  holding fast to the word of life…”

I expect this to be much harder for me than for the kids.  Because, let’s be honest, my internal grumble-meter can reach dangerous proportions.  We are taking this theme on for ME, because I want to see what happens when I am free from complaint.  I honestly don’t know what to expect.  I think I grumble more than I realize, so it might be a shock.  If you see me open and shut my mouth a hundred times this week without any words coming out, then you know, I’m working the theme.

Want to try with us?  One of the ways we are going to wage war on complaining is by doing it’s opposite- thanking!  We will spend the whole week doing things to show we are thankful.  We’re going to make a poster and list all the things we are thankful for.  We’re going to write thank you cards and letters, make calls- do whatever we can this week to switch gears from what’s wrong in life, to what’s RIGHT.

Instead of complaining that the rosebush is full of thorns, be happy that the thorn bush has roses.  ~Proverb

I predict, it’s gonna be another GREAT week.  I already know it.

Happy Monday, everybody.

