Read this quote the other day in my favorite magazine, Seeing the Everyday:

“Educated women in the home? What an odd thing to deplore! What better place to have us “end up”… What more important job is there than sharing the values we are learning to cherish with the next generation of adults? What more strategic place could there be for the educated woman?” -Edith F. Hunter

Aside from encouraging me, it also got me to thinking about what I would be doing if I wasn’t in the domestic field.  I would probably be working in an office.  And, I would be rocking that job, whatever field it was in.  Because I am smart, organized, and motivated.  I’m just sayin’.  I love plans and lists and order- that’s who I am.  I thrive in an office setting.  Yay me!  I like that about myself!  But before you think I’m tooting my own horn here, let me go on to say that nice little train of thought didn’t end there.  Nope.  Derail to Truth Town.  My next thought was, well, if the domestic domain is the place I’ve chosen to employ myself– if it is the area that I have decided to direct my skills and focus and education upon, then how am I doing?  How does my “office” look?  Are all my strengths and abilities being fully utilized, the way they would in a professional setting?

Um, no.

Big, old, fat NO.  Since about child three, I’ve been skating by.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I’ve been busy.  And there is a lot that is working right in my life.  But I have let so much go simply because I have not been applying myself.  I procrastinate, I avoid, I just get downright lazy.  Ironically, the very things that I am the best at, organization– are the things that suffer the most around here.  Our paperwork?  The closets?  S-C-A-R-Y.  Do not go in there. Do not look the junk drawer in the eye.  Back away from the bill file, slowly and with no sudden movements.

Anyway, it was a bit of a wake up call.  I’ve got a job, and I can do it better.  Coincidentally, right on the heels of this epiphany, I read an encouraging article from Generation Cedar about balancing your life, using a “home notebook”.

Lists?  A pretty notebook?

YES.

I’m on it.  I’m ready.  I’m tired of feeling guilty about the state of the household.  I’m tired of surviving the mess, I want to conquer it!  I CAN do better, because I am competent, smart, and capable.  This is doable.  I can be the steward of this house, and the keeper of it, because that’s what I’ve been preparing myself for my whole life.  It will take some elbow grease, but I’ve never been afraid of hard work.

Time to get things ship shape around here.

Just thought I’d share that out loud, to help me get going.  As a matter of fact, I’m gonna go ahead and officially name this Project Ship Shape.  Day 1, let’s see what happens.  I’ll be blogging and photographing this week, to keep me on my toes.  Do join in, if you have a few scary closets and piles of paperwork that you need to confront also!

Good luck, and godspeed.

