Good morning, folks!  I am happy to report that I am well and back in the game again.  After hosting HeroBoy’s 8th birthday party on Saturday, I went downhill quickly with a nasty cold.  By yesterday, I was feeling better, and today looks like I’m back to normal.  (Mostly.  Still coughing and sniffling some, but manageable.)

I hate being sick.

I just don’t have time for it!  Bad things happen in the laundry room when I get sick.

(Oh, and I’ll post pictures from HeroBoy’s Star Wars themed party later.  It was a lot of fun to put together, and the kids all had a blast!  My only regret is that I didn’t have time to get together a Princess Leia outfit.  Any time I pass up an opportunity like that, I’m a little sad.  But, I’m sure there will be other chances with this many boy parties to give…)

So, I got sick, and when I woke up, it was March already!  What?  Crazy!  But I’m so excited.  I love March.  Good things are happening this month.  For one, it’s National Pancake Day.  Free shortstacks at Ihop.  I’m trying to decide if it’s worth it, though, to be honest.  Taking five kids out to eat isn’t exactly… restful.  And pancake syrup?  Yeah.  It makes staying home a bit more attractive.

So, there’s that.  We also have Chipmunk’s 4th birthday in a few days.  Yipes!  4.  Hard to believe my baby isn’t my baby anymore!

More to be excited about, in a week and a half, King Pen and I are headed to Natchitoches, LA for an anniversary celebration.  Our 14th anniversary was actually in December, but we like to delay the par-tay till March, when we aren’t so fried by the holidays.  We’re staying at a b&b in the historic district, which is a first for us.  I can’t tell you how much I am looking forward to it!  Aside from getting to spend some alone time with my husband (which is RARE!) and being in a city I adore, I am really looking forward to focusing on the fact that our marriage has survived and thrived for fourteen years.  That’s pretty special.  He’s pretty special.  🙂

Then, there’s the Ides of March.  How I love the Ides!  So spooky, mysterious!  I always want to read the Tragedy of Julius Caesar around this time.  Maybe I will this year, start a Shakespeare tradition… we’ll see.

And of course we can’t forget Mardi Gras, King Cakes, St. Patrick’s Day– what’s not to love about March?  There are tons of interesting days just piled up in this month.

And, finally– March 1st marks the one month countdown to another trip I’m taking– with my sisters and mom.  April 1st will see us in New Orleans, for a girl’s weekend/photography getaway!  I’m downright GIDDY over that.  We are going to have so much fun.  We’ve been planning it for about six months now, and I LOVE that it’s just a few weeks away!  I’m gonna totally GIRL OUT.  We’re gonna get our nails done, eat yummy food, talk about our feelings, and take pictures nonstop.  It’s gonna rock.

Well, that’s about it, for now.  I need to go wrangle up some breakfast for the kiddos.  Hope you all have a great day, and a wonderful, happy March!

 

