“Thy words were found, and I did eat them; and thy word was unto me the joy and rejoicing of mine heart: for I am called by thy name, O LORD God of hosts.”  (Jeremiah 15:16)

How beautiful Scripture is.  Are these words poetry to you, too?  They reach right into me and fill something, some need in me.  They are perfect.  A sweet consumption, the only true satisfaction.

Tonight, I am overwhelmed.  Overwhelmed at Him.  Astounded, amazed.  How many words we have for marveling, for wonderment– and it is no coincidence.  We are given much to be astonished over in this world by our God.  That He chose me, that He made my blind eyes to see– that is the beginning.  And what a beginning.

It could be so different.

But oh miracle, I can pick up my Bible, and read His words to me.  How many millions of Christians over the course of history have been able to do that?  Oh, how blessed we are!  What mercy!  I am not running from lions for my faith.  I am not smuggling my Bible in my hair into a concentration camp.  I am not a desperate peasant, hearing a Latin recitation that I don’t even understand.

I have Him here, Real and Present in my hands.  I can read, and know Him, without fear or struggle.

That is the blessing I’ll count tonight.  That His words were found, and I have eaten them, and have been filled with joy.



