My husband has a wonderful knack for finding things.  Creepy things, unusual things, amazing things.  My children have inherited this gene.  Needless to say, my house if full of strange and interesting artifacts.

King Pen took the kids hiking, and they came back with this crAZY moth:

Wish you could see this one in person.  It is hard, like a shell, with spikes sprouting out of its back.  We were really baffled until we learned that this unfortunate creature met with a carnivorous fungus, that CONSUMED IT ALIVE.  Ew.  Then the fungus sprouted these spikey offshoots.  Not sure why the wings took on a leaf like pattern.  Who knows what kind of moth it was- you can’t see anything but the fungus now.

Moths seem to be the theme for our found things lately.  Witness the Luna Moth King Pen also found on this expedition:

Isn’t she a beauty?  We have a soft spot for Luna Moths around here.

A little less love for the HUMONGOUS Luna Moth caterpillar, found at MamaSue’s house.  This sucker was as big as my hand.  If I was a bird though, I would have eaten it right up.  It looked like a bird’s Thanksgiving dinner:

And of course, there is the odd this and that, like this vintage Tootsie toy car found on an abandoned army base.

I like to imagine a Chipmunk-like little boy, out there vrooming his die-cast Mustang toy around the family barracks while his daddy is doing soldierly things somewhere on base.

Everything has a story.

Well, that’s all for now.  My crew is waiting for scrambled eggs and raisin toast, so I must be off.  Hope you all have a great weekend, full of wonder and discovery!

