Our first weekend home in aaaaages, and it was a good one.  We got a lot of those naggy little jobs taken care of, you know those ones that hang over you, just bugging you till you do them?  Well, we marked a lot off the list.  That’s a good feeling.

Besides getting some work done, we just got to enjoy being together.  Czarina and HeroBoy had their first soccer games (Czarina’s VERY first, since it is her first time playing).  It was fun.  Hot.  A little bit chaotic– especially since King Pen is coaching HeroBoy’s team.  That leaves me with the other four during that hour, and not a lick of shade to be found.  And guess who forgot to sunscreen us all?  Yes, Mom of the Year, Moi.  I am pink as can be, too.  Me and Chipmunk- we don’t take the sun well.  Anyway, I’ll know next time– I’ll be much better prepared.  I’ll be doing a lot of things different next week!

One of them is possibly skipping the playground.  There is one near the soccer fields, and we hung out there in between games, having our lunch.  Well, the Duke was minding his own business, out there having fun on a jungle gym thing, and this bigger kid comes by and SPITS ON MY CHILD!  I nearly flew off that picnic table!  I yelled out at him and pointed my finger straight at him, “Hey!  You stop that right now!  Do NOT spit on him!”  He just looked at me like I was crazy, but he moved on away from the Duke.  I was fully prepared to march my little self right over to him and haul him bodily off the playground if he did it again.  The Duke was totally offended, too, let me tell you.  He just could not get over somebody doing that to him for no reason.  He eventually settled down, but his feathers were all ruffled for a while.  He kept an eye on that kid, and I did, too.  He was a total nuisance, just ripping and tearing through everybody.  Blocking the slide, turning over the equipment, just being really annoying.  I have no idea where his mama was.  I was the only grown-up out there.  As a matter of fact, just as we were leaving, one of the other little boys ran up to me and told me that there was a little girl, “going number two under the slide”.

Lordy.  I looked around and sure enough, there she was pulling up her pants.  No mama to be seen anywhere.  

I’m ashamed to admit it, but I was not about to deal with that.  She’d already done it, and there was no adult to speak to about it.  I gathered up my crew and we LEFT.  Bleh.  Tomorrow, I am going to call the church office (who owns the playground) and let them know so they can handle cleanup, if it needs to be done.

So, whew.  Eventful.

Let’s see… what else?

Our long lost turtle came home, did I mention that?  Tory, who escaped about a year and a half ago, just turned up in the backyard!  King Pen spent the afternoon making a new, deluxe turtle run, so he shouldn’t be able to get out again.  What are the odds of finding him again like that?  We know for sure its him, from a crack in his shell.  There’s no doubt.  Tory is pretty amazing, too- he’s got so much personality!  He has no fear whatsoever of humans, he’s very curious.  He never hides in his shell when the kids pick him up or anything.  It’s wild.  Anyway, they were ecstatic that he was back.  If they could have hugged him, they would have.  It was a big moment.

Other random things to note-

I started the Core Rhythms workout DVD, learning Latin dancing.  And holy moly.  They are not kidding around!  I could barely get through the warmup!  I was sore all over the next day.  I tried to do it while the kids were outside playing, because, well, it’s obviously not something I want an audience for, for a multitude of reasons.  I don’t have to explain this to any one excercising in front of a small child.  They are not subtle in their observations.  Anyway, I’m five minutes into it, and I see four heads peering into the window, bewildered and amused.  Thank you for that, children.  Laughing at your mother.  Nice.

Anyway.  Cha-cha-cha.  

Well, I think that’s all I’ve got in me tonight.  It’s not much of a blog post, but it is what it is.  The sad truth is, Facebook is encroaching on my blog time.  I used to be bummed about that, but now I’ve gotten to where I like the pace of Facebook, the real time interaction with people.  I won’t stop blogging altogether, of course, but you can probably find me there more than here.  So, look me up, or send me an email, and we can hang out over there, too.  🙂

Good night, everybody.   Hope you all have a great week.

