I have been meaning to mention this, but keep forgetting.  Some of you probably remember some frantic, desperate breastfeeding posts after the Duke and Chipmunk were born.  It did NOT go well with them.  As a matter of fact, it was about as miserable and painful as it could possibly be.  Dark times, people.  I spent the first month of their lives crying almost every day.  It was a discouraging experience, especially since I had nursed Czarina and HeroBoy with no trouble.  I wouldn’t have made it through without many of the readers here, and my dear friends in real life.  It was harrrrrdddd.  I left those days feeling like I’d failed.

Anyway, this time around, I was determined for things to turn out differently.  I wasn’t sure if I would be successful nursing Calhoun, but I had decided that I wouldn’t let it take such an emotional toll on me if I couldn’t.  I made peace with bottle feeding, if that was going to be the case.  But, I was also determined to give breastfeeding my all, because I really wanted that to work out.  

And now, after weeks of hard work, I am downright ecstatic to say, WE MADE IT!!  There were moments in the first few weeks that I wasn’t sure we’d get through it, but I just wasn’t ready to quit.  Then one day, it seemed a tiny bit better.  I hung on to that, and each day we inched forward.  Here we are now, six and a half weeks later, and we are a successful breastfeeding duo.  I cannot tell you how proud I am.  It seems silly, I know, but it was one of the toughest feats in my life as a mother.  It was like finally defeating that demon that had whooped me so bad the last two times.  It’s not exactly the kind of thing you can shout from the mountaintop– but that’s how I felt.  

And Mister seems pretty happy, too.

Anyway, just thought some of you might want to know how that was going, since you knew the trouble I had before.  High five, everybody!  

Now back to your regularly scheduled, non-breasty blog posts.

