Okay guys, let’s take a poll.  Which do you use more when you write- print or cursive?  Many people out there are saying that cursive is a dying form– and some schools/parents aren’t even really teaching it anymore.  Computers, books, magazines, it’s all in type, and most people don’t encounter cursive in their day-to-day communications.  I suppose that shouldn’t be surprising- just look at how much handwriting has evolved in the last hundred years.  It obviously changes as time passes, depending on the tools and trends.

Around here, we start working on cursive in second grade.  Czarina is in 4th grade, and absolutely hates it.  I mean, she just DREADS handwriting lessons.  I remember when I was in school, once we learned cursive, then all our work had to be turned in in that form.  No more print.  I can’t bring myself to make her do that, so we just do the lessons that are included in the curriculum and leave it at that.  I’m at the point where I’m considering looking for another program for cursive all together, because it’s just not one of Abeka’s strong points.  It’s so tedious!  You’ll rarely hear me criticize Abeka, but honestly, they just don’t even TRY to make it interesting.

Anyway.  The point is, it takes her three times as long to write in cursive, and she doesn’t enjoy a minute of it.  So, am I torturing her unnecessarily?  Is it a matter of preference, or should it be mandatory?  And why?  Once you are able to read in cursive, and write it, then should it be left up to the student whether they continue to use it?

Looking ahead to HeroBoy starting next year, let me tell you, I don’t know HOW he’ll be ready.  His printing is so squirrelly right now, I can’t imagine introducing a whole new concept for lettering.  We’ve got a long way to go before he’s ready.

So, my question is… well, what’s the point?  Is there a good argument for holding on to cursive writing?  Please, weigh in!  Should we keep learning it, and should we make it our primary mode for writing?

