rose.jpg
“Is there anything more beautiful than a beautiful, beautiful flamingo, flying across in front of a beautiful sunset? And he’s carrying a beautiful rose in his beak, and also he’s carrying a very beautiful painting with his feet. And also, you’re drunk.”
Ah, Jack Handy, you genius.
Right outside my bedroom window, this rose is blooming. I’ve been waiting for it for days, watching the bud slowly opening up. I should have shot it each day, but that thought didn’t occur to me until just this minute. I am glad the idea occurred though, even if it was too late. Perhaps I am learning to think like a photographer?
So…
I am pensive today. Things are going on with family, difficult times. It’s frustrating to feel like an observer. That happens when you live away- you can say all the supportive, encouraging things you want, but when it gets down to it, there’s nothing you can actually DO. You can’t lend a hand. You can’t change things. You can’t physically be there to make a tangible difference. Please don’t say, oh, but you can pray! I know that. And I am. But sometimes, what feels the best is stepping in and being able to help with the load somebody is carrying. I can’t do that, and I wish I could.
Besides that, there are other thoughts heavy on my mind these days. Not anything I can go into greatly. It’s nothing too serious, nothing overly worrisome– just enough to keep me preoccupied. It is a temptation in those moments to become overly introspective— which is a slippery slope to self pity and absorption. Don’t wanna go there, or be that. Sorry to be vague, that’s so unsatisfying, isn’t it?
But enough of those things. I am happy, even today, when my thoughts are ponderous. That’s a gift– to see beyond the moment– and I don’t forget that for a second. Today, I will count my blessings all day long– over and over and over. I will battle with joy, with love, with thankfulness, with laughter, because that is what we do.
I will look at a rose- thorns and all, and breathe deep the sweetness.
Have a good weekend, everybody.

