Good day, everybody! Seriously, good day. It is, isn’t it? Even for a Monday, you can’t help but fall in love with weather like this. It’s bright and green, breezy, sunshiney. Perfect.
I’ve put my favorite Spring skirt on, flipflops, and a tanktop. It’s my official Welcome to Spring uniform. I sometimes put it on too early, but this time, I’m optimistic. Surely this weather will stick? I even packed the heaviest jackets up today, and if I have to get them out again, I’ll be surprised. And a little mad. Still, though, even if I do, I’m going to enjoy this balmy, lively weather while I can. The kids are down at the creek for a little before school fun, and I’m taking a moment to catch my breath.
It seems like forever since I’ve blogged. It’s been a crazy busy month, running all over the place. Thankfully, we had a lowkey weekend, since we were still getting over the last dredges of illness. It was restful, and everyone is well now. (thank goodness!!)
Friday night, Czarina had her Girl Scout sleepover, and it went off without a hitch.
0674.jpg
It’s the first time she’s spent a night with anybody besides family. I wasn’t sure how she would do, but I shouldn’t have wasted time worrying. She was awesome. She had her best bud, Tori, with her, and she couldn’t get rid of me fast enough!
06752.jpg
As hard as it is sometimes to see her growing, I am also so glad she’s having these moments in her life. They are joyful to me, in a whole new way.
Anyway, besides that, the weekend was uneventful. King Pen was under the weather, so we laid low. He was better by Sunday, so we did steaks on the grill and had a lazy afternoon. Good thing, ’cause it’s going to be a busy week.
We have tons of school to make up from Spring break and our sick days. It’s a little overwhelming, but we’ll get there.
HeroBoy has his first soccer practice Thursday. How excited am I? I can’t wait. You all know I’m not a big sports person, but I come from a family that loves them. So, I’m used to sitting in stands, cheering– and I cannot WAIT to see HeroBoy out there, doing his thing. I know how much he’s going to love it, and it feels great to nurture that in him. We’re doing Upwards soccer, which is a Christian program than encourages players to have strong values and positive team attitudes. I think they even do some scripture memorization. The season isn’t too long, and they don’t practice or play on Sundays, so it will be a nice introduction into the sports world for us. They’re called The Little Flashes, and I’m sure that’s all he’ll be out there, just a flash of color.
What else? Oh, on Saturday, we are attending a crawfish boil with King Pen’s friends from LSU. Now, that’s something to be excited about! Yum, and fun! It’s not far from Baton Rouge, so I’m thinking, maybe we’ll stay overnight and visit our old church friends there on Sunday. (This is news to King Pen– sorry dear, it just came to me this morning! Whatcha think?) I haven’t seen Debby or Ann or any of those guys in three years. Well past time to visit!!
Okie dokie, artichokie. That brings you up to date. I’m way behind on the day, so I better get to it. Have a lovely Monday, folks, and I’ll catch up with you later. I still plan to write about my Atlanta trip, just want to sit and do it justice when I have enough time. Stay with me, it’s good.
PS: I just noticed, if you scroll up and down between that last picture of Czarina and the one below of me with my new haircut, we really look quite a bit alike. She’s got my smile! 🙂

