Well, I’ll be a monkey’s uncle. You just would not believe what happened Saturday afternoon. We were invited to an evening neighborhood barbeque (boy, was it FREEZING!!), and we’d been looking forward to it all week. There are not many children around, mostly retirees, so this was a good opportunity for us to network with some folks a few streets down.

Anyway, so we load up the kids, the er, homebaked brownies, and head across the foot bridge to the crowd. I’m mingling a little, watching the kids, warming myself by the fire, and a woman walks up to me and says in amazement, “WonderGirl?” To my utter astonishment, it’s an old friend from college, Audrey. She was a fellow resident assistant in the dorms with me, a wonderful Christian girl who is one of the wittiest, sharpest people I’ve had the pleasure of knowing. I haven’t seen her in twelve years, had no idea where she’d ended up or how life turned out for her. And here she is, MY NEIGHBOR. I can see her house from my front yard. Unbelievable. Just when I had resigned myself to the fact that there were NO friends to be had for me here, God plops one down right in front of me, all ready made. Not just in the same town, but within walking distance. How’s that for provision? And of all the people He could bring back into my life, Audrey is one of the best. She’s genuine, and instant– she’s never met a stranger. It was like I’d just seen her yesterday.

It blows my mind that in all the places she and I could end up in this world, we both live in a podunk little town in Louisiana, just yards apart. God is absolutely the author of this coincidence. I love it when He moves in big, obvious ways– it’s such a good reminder of His love and care for His people.

I cannot tell you how my heart soared to see a friend. I’ve been here for eleven months without one, and I had begun to despair. We hugged in disbelief, and joy, and it was a wonderful moment.

Of course, only minutes later, this beautiful moment was eclipsed by the site of my three year old peeing in the neighbor’s front yard. Right by the tabled with all the food. Directly under the street light.

Sweet.

Life’s full of the unexpected, huh?

