We’re headed to Destin tomorrow– me and the kids (the kids and I? Come on, grammar police, straighten me out- I know you can’t resist), my mom, Aunt Charlotte, my cousin Laura, sister Ashley and her family, and my youngest sister Brittany. Ashley and her crew will be staying in their RV at a campsite near our condo. It will be, undoubtedly, absolutely fabulous. Unless, of course, Ike decides to pop in for a visit. The fabulous quotient drops dramatically if he comes along.

So we’re (somewhat) packed up and ready for some serious lazing around on the beach. We’ve got games and books and sunblock– can’t think of much more that we need than that! Maybe some margarita mix? I’ll have to add that to my list of last minute items to pick up. Actually, I am a little nervous about what exactly made it into the suitcase, since I was packing in the dark as we fled Gustav. Who knows? I may very well need to buy myself an entire wardrobe while we’re there. That would be just plum awful– all new clothes. Shame, that.

I’ll be taking a few days off from the Sift to enjoy this last little bit of summer. I’ll try to coax my camera into taking one last round of photos– it’s on it’s last leg. (Note my cavalier attitude, oh transparent bravado! I don’t want you to see me cry. -sniff- She was a good camera, y’all. She was an expensive camera, and it hurts, people. It hurts.)

Anywhoo, hope you all have a good weekend, followed by a good week– and I will see you later. You may not recognize me, with my gorgeous beach tan!

Well, we all need to dream.

Happy days, everybody. I’ll miss ya.

PS… Thank you to King Pen’s parents for putting us up for the last few days. It’s good to know the door’s always open. (Or, the window can be shimmied. Heh.) Seriously, thank you. We loves ya.

