st.gif

I’m gonna tell you a secret. I’m gonna tell you what my wish was. You know, the one I made when I blew out my candles this year… or when I saw that shooting star? I know you’re not really supposed to tell, but I’ll tempt fate anyway. I wished for ONLINE GIFT CERTIFICATES TO FABRIC STORES.

Yup. I’m not a complicated gal.

I love me some fabric. I get a literal pang of longing over some of them. Give me a little Amy Butler, Jennifer Paganeli, Heather Bailey, Anna Maria Horner, Joel Dewberry– and I’m in heaven. There are some amazing designers out there, but unfortunately, you don’t find much of their stuff in the local fabric stores. Actually, you’re pretty lucky if you even HAVE a local fabric store these days. They are going out of business left and right, because people don’t sew the way they used to. It’s so much easier and cheaper to mass produce stuff now, that there’s no point in sewing it yourself unless you just WANT to. But, boy do I want to!

So, finding these incredible fabrics is an online hunt. I cast my net far and wide, looking for sales and shipping discounts– anything that will make these fabrics more affordable. I want to make a sling with the best fabric I can, with the least cost. Yeah, “duh”. I know. But what I mean is, I am trying to make my slings cheaper than others you’ll find out there, but I don’t want to compromise by using ugly material. Bleh. Nothing worse than a bolt of awful material. But I can only afford the designer stuff when I can get a good deal on it. So I spend A LOT of time treasure hunting on the internet.

And now— (stay with me, because I’ve FINALLY come to the point of this blog post!) for those of you who have inquired about my fabric sources, I’ve compiled a list of sites I order from frequently. It’s not a complete list, but these are the larger sites. I occasionally order from a smaller boutique, but I find their prices are less fluid and I do better with the warehouse type sales. Also, Ebay has been awesome for fabric, too, if you can find a seller with several items you want and combined shipping.

Fashion Fabrics Club
Mood Fabrics
Trendy Fabrics
ReproDepot
Fabric.com
purlsoho
Fabric Depot
Sew Mama Sew
Ebay
Denver Fabrics
Imagine Fabrics

Warning: All it takes is a little browsing, and you’ll be hooked. Once you see some of these lovely fabrics, you’ll start racking your brain over what you could do with them. You may even start using your birthday wishes on gift certificates. Mark my words.

Oh, and if you are a fabric guru yourself, please post a link to your favorite online fabric source in the comments. And do tell what you enjoy sewing with those fabrics if you have time!

Okay, ’nuff lallygagging. I am off to pack for a midweek trip to see some Mississippi family. More later.

