Oh sakes. I’ve gone and stayed up late again! What’s the dealio? I simply cannot manage to get myself into bed at a decent hour these days. And it’s not like I suddenly need less sleep, oh no. The kids have had to PRY me out of bed to make them breakfast the last few days. And I’ll admit, they’ve been less than stellar breakfasts. I can only feed my children Pop-tarts and Nutragrain bars so many days in a row. Seriously. Child services is gonna come knocking soon if I don’t get some oatmeal and scrambled eggs and toast on the table soon! (You think I’m kidding, but they don’t joke in Pineville. I could be in some big trouble if we don’t eat a balanced breakfast, like FAST.)

Okay, I feel a little better. Confession is good for the soul. Tomorrow morning, my kids will have freshly squeezed oj, dadgummit. (Okay, maybe not freshly squeezed. But I promise it won’t be orange kool-aid. No warrants out for my arrest. Yet.)

Fortunately, (especially for my kids who like to eat breakfast), I’m getting over the first craze of being in business. I’m working out the kinks, and hopefully will move it more to the background of my life. I don’t want (nor can I allow) it to be the primary function of my day. It is gratifying work, though. I know this sounds crazy, but when I sew a hem, and iron it– when I look at the construction, knowing that I have rendered this thing with my own labor, and that my efforts will be enjoyed by someone else and bring profit to my family… oh the satisfaction! It is a big boost in my day. But, I don’t want to neglect the other areas of my life, so I have to consciously set it aside and tend to other things. I’m still sorta learning how to do that, how to balance it all.

I read a really good post over at Femina the other day about creating things. It was a timely read for me in relationship to my recent endeavours. Here’s a lovely paragraph from Nancy, who is talking about why we are drawn to craft objects:

“My theory is that God puts wisdom in our hearts and it comes out our hands. And when it does, we make stuff! And not only does this stuff glorify God when it is offered to Him, it gives us a soul satisfaction that is healthy and invigorating. We are imitating our Creator when we make things, and that image of God which is stamped on our soul shines a little brighter.”

I love that.

I love that it’s okay to indulge in making things beautiful, and making beautiful things. Not only is it okay, I believe it is a sign of something healthy and good happening inside us. I think it might be very hard to create beautiful things when your soul hurts. I know I feel unispired and uninterested in those things when I am in a dark place. Or, at least, the things born of those darker days are dark in themselves, and are weighted down in some way.

I think for the crafty person, if you look at what your hands have produced, it might give a measure of the state of your heart. Of course, I don’t mean that your level of talent or particular taste equals a good spiritual condition. (‘Cause that would be stoopid.) And I’m certainly not saying if you don’t bake or sew or scrapbook that you’re in questionable territory. It’s more about what activities your hands are engaged in. What good have they wrought lately, in whatever form? Is the product of your labor a beautiful thing, whatever that may be? For me, I know that the best writing, cooking, sewing, whatever, comes when I am spiritually nourished. I think there is a definite connection there. What we harbor inside us will bear fruit whether we want it to or not. So, maybe looking over that fruit isn’t such a bad idea, ya know?

Well, I didn’t mean to go off on that quite so much, but I guess that’s what happens when you’re sleep deprived and in denial! I must hie myself to bed. I have to get up early to go milk the cows and feed the chickens.

Sweet dreams, butter beans. See you in the bright and early.

