So we’re back in the saddle again with school. And to be honest, we’re wayyyyy behind. We got set back with this move- and we’ll definitely have to go into the summer to finish up all the material for the year. But– I’m pumped! I set up the school/play room yesterday, and it looks so great! I finally have space to display all my charts and posters and things- and it’s so cheerful and organized. The kids are loving it. I’ve even got an area for the little ones right beside the window- with a shelf full of fun books and a basket of toys. I’ve hung up the spare blackboard so they can draw on it, and there is a rocking chair for those moments when I can wrangle their squirmy selves into a snuggle. There are Bible verses on the walls, happy posters of songs and Bible stories, weather and vowel charts, etc. It’s a huge, comfy room, and everyone really seems to be enjoying it. I look forward to being in there much more than at the dining room table.

Czarina is doing fine- we’re starting cursive writing this month, which, to be honest, I’m not all that crazy about. I struggle teaching new concepts. I mean, I do fine if I’m building on something, but a totally new thing sometimes baffles me. Which is why I’m a little squirrely with HeroBoy’s lessons. I just don’t know where to start! Even after doing this for half a year, I still haven’t gotten “the groove” with his curriculum. I got to skip this part with Czarina because she attended a private pre-k and kindergarten. I just had to pick up where she left off when we started homeschooling. But HeroBoy… well, it’s a whole new ballgame with him. And bless his heart, he’s eager, but it’s still a little over his head. So, yeah… we’re doing a lot of matching, patterns, shapes and colors and stuff, but not a whole lot of phonics and numbers. Which I’m feeling rather guilty about. I really want to make sure all they are all on par, and I think I need to up the game with HeroBoy.

I do not

DO NOT

ABSOLUTELY DO NOT

want to mess up with their education. I know lots of adults who were homeschooled as children and they way surpassed my own public school education. They are successful, intelligent, socialized, and cultured individuals. But I also know a few who slipped through the cracks and don’t know the difference between “there” and “their” and that scares me. I know that sounds a little pretentious, but it irks me, and I don’t want my kids to end up grammatically impaired. I misspell the occasional word, dear reader- that’s no secret, (as my Cousin so thoughtfully points out), but I have a basic grasp of the language, and the desire to spell correctly when I’m publicly humiliated lovingly encouraged. (ha)

Anyway… that’s all that. Just thought I’d post an update on schoolin’, since inquiring minds want to know and all that. Ideas, encouragements, admonitions, and spelling corrections welcome, as usual.

