I only have a few minutes today, there is SO much to do. We’re getting ready for another marathon trip- and that involves megapacking. On Saturday, we are meeting AGAIN with the future employer to nail down the specifics and hopefully get everything in writing so we can move forward with this move. Then, I’m spending a week with the kids at my parents house. So it’s a busy day today.

But before I get to all that, I wanted to blog. My internet connection was spotty yesterday, so when I got up this morning and it worked, I had a lot of catching up to do. I love reading my favorite blogs as the kids eat breakfast and I drink my coffee. It’s like my morning paper and a chat with friends all rolled into one. Most of the time, the news is funny and informative. Even the daily routines of other people cheer me. But sometimes, it’s not a good day for news. Sometimes, the news is enough to break your heart.

It seems that so many of my friends and family are struggling financially right now. I can feel the full weight of that anxiety, that depression, that desperate desire to trust God but not knowing how to do that in the face of such grim circumstances. Been there, done that. Or rather, AM there, DOING that. So I get it, I really, really do. And I wish more than anything that I could help. When I read about a friend skipping meals so her children have more to eat, nothing in the world would bring me more joy than to write out a check RIGHT this instant, and be the means that God uses to provide for this week. Another friend, whose husband is out of work and is trying, trying to trust God but struggling… oh how I wish I could reach out and hug her. To see these troubles, and to really “get” it, but be helpless to aid them, it’s heartbreaking.

Financial worries I understand, but when it crosses into health issues, well, it certainly puts things in perspective. I read a post from a fellow blogger this morning about her husband’s cancer, and how they are looking into hospices now… oh, God. I pray for comfort and peace for them… I don’t even know WHAT to pray. Saying goodbye to your lifelong love, oh my heart. That hurts.

I’ve told them all I’ll be praying for them, and I really mean it. I will be. I hope that means something to them, that it lets them know they are cared for, that they’re not alone. I hope they know it means they are remembered, their problems matter, and that their names are whispered into the Almighty’s ear every day.

One day, maybe I’ll be able to do more. That’s my prayer, that one day God will allow us to be tools in other people’s lives. That He’ll give us the blessing and honor of being in a position to make a monetary difference. What a joy that would be! But I am no less content with being the one to hug, because that is a calling as well.

Anyway… those are my thought today. I realize they were a bit blue, but it is what it is. Remember those who are suffering around you today. Pray that God opens your eyes to the needs of others. Minister to those He leads in your path, even if it means just offering up prayers, and pointing back to Him. Encourage one another, lift each other up…

Okay, I’ll stop before this turns into Chicken Soup for the Soul.

Have a wonderful weekend, everybody. I’ll be back on Monday.

