With Christmas coming up, I know I’m not the only one praying, very specifically, for some moolah. With four kids and a large extended family, this is a difficult time for us. So I break it down for God- just how much we need for bills, for gifts, and this time, for relocating. Ya know, in case He’s not entirely sure. He’s got an itemized list of WonderGirl’s financial needs. The Winter 2007 Budget Proposal is presented daily, with hopeful, and oft times, desperate, fervency. I’ve even worked up a PowerPoint pitch, complete with graphs and colorful clipart.

But last night, it occured to me that I’m doing an awful lot of praying about material needs and not much about my spiritual. When is the last time I asked for wisdom? And kindess? Compassion? Discernment? Gentleness, contentment, humilty? How about a prayer to curb my tongue, to see the good in people, to love my enemies? To be encouraging, to be hospitable, to be productive? There are so many deficiencies in my spiritual condition, and these are things for which I need to daily approach the Lord – with fervency, desperation, and hope.

Material needs are important, and I do believe that God wants us to ask for those things. He cares about them and He will provide. But there is no doubt, He is more concerned with our hearts than our bank account.

Colossians 3:12-17 says:

“Therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, put on tender mercies, kindness, humility, meekness, longsuffering; bearing with one another, and forgiving one another, if anyone has a complaint against another; even as Christ forgave you, so you also must do. But above all these things put on love, which is the bond of perfection. And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to which also you were called in one body; and be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom, teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord. And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.”

I don’t know if we will ever have an abundance of material things, though that would surely be nice. But truly, I am coming to care less for that, as God reveals the spiritual abundance to be found in Him, if we will only ask.

