There is nothing quite so painful as being sorry for something, truly sorry, and it not mattering.  And on the flip side, there is nothing quite so joyous as being sorry for something, truly sorry, and being forgiven.

 I have been on the recieving end of both of those situations, and much prefer to be forgiven!  But what do you do when forgiveness doesn’t come?  I’ve tried everything I can think of, and still, there is no peace.  It’s discouraging.  And hurtful.  When you humble yourself before somebody and it’s rejected, it’s like a punch in the gut.  I have nothing else to give this person- my best, most sincere apologies have fallen on deaf ears, and I suppose it’s just something I must live with. 

 I can tell you this, though.  When somebody comes to me with a remorseful spirit – I will welcome them with open arms.  Forgiveness is a gift you give other people- I will not be miserly with mine.  I might not have learned that so well until it was withheld from me.

