Thankfully, there is some common sense to be found rattling around in my head occasionally. Despite my intentions of turning in early to sleep last night, I spent way too much time writing a letter. When I looked up from my heavy treatise, I realized it was 1 a.m.

No letter you are writing at midnight needs to be sent, because nothing you say in those late hours is worthy of hearing. Words born in the darkest hours need baptism in the light of day before you send them off on their task. So I saved it to the “draft” folder, and sought my bed for a restless few hours.

I woke up in relief. Reading back over my words, I realize they do not serve me as I intended them to. I was glad for that little voice that said, wait.

Today, it says shhh. And I am perfectly content in the silence.

