4178.jpg

One of my favorite days happened today, though you wouldn’t know to look at it. It started yesterday, when Czarina noticed me reading an old diary.

“What’s that, Momma?”

“This is my journal, Honey. It’s where I write things I want to remember.”

“Like what?”

“Like how I feel, or what I did today, or special things that happen.” I paused, wondering if this would be the moment I’ve waited for.

“Do you think I could do that?”

I smiled. Finally. “I think that sounds like a wonderful idea.”

So today, in between running errands, going to the pool, doing our customary Saturday business- we bought her first journal. She examined the selection with care, eventually deciding on a small blue Beatrix Potter diary. We made an occasion out of it, celebrating with a chocolate milkshake.

This is a big day for me. King Pen has been drawing with Czarina ever since she could hold a crayon. I’ve always been glad for that, but a part of me longed to share the things I love, too. I hope she will find the pleasure and solace in writing that I have during my lifetime. If she doesn’t, well that’s alright. She’s not me, nor would I want her to be. She will find her own way, I know this. But, I am happy for today, happy to share the excitement of a blank book, even if it is just this once.

On the ride home, she was quiet in the backseat. I asked her if she was okay, and she said, “I’m fine. I was just thinking of what to write in my journal.”

So, what did you decide, I asked.

“I’m going to write: Today is a good day. Today I had a milkshake with my mom.”

I think that’s an excellent beginning.

***

4179.jpg

