So, my youngest has no respect for Saturday mornings. Bah. Doesn’t he know we’re all supposed to be sleeping in? Oh well. He and I are sitting in the living room watching Krypto, Super Dog, before the rest of the kids are up and at ’em.

Remember when Saturday used to be a big deal? I remember getting up at six in the morning to start my cartoon schedule. Mom would put out cereal bowls the night before, and we were in charge of getting our own breakfast. It was the only day of the week we got sweet cereal, and we looked forward to it all week. Cocoa Rice Krispies, Booberry, Count Chocula…

We took turns choosing what cartoons to watch, but we were in agreement most of the time. I’m just gonna throw out a list of my favorites (in no particular order), and let’s all be nostalgic together, yeah?

Smurfs
Ducktales
FraggleRock
ALF
Garfield and Friends
Kidd Video
Moncchichis
Pac-Man
The Snorks
Richie Rich
Tom and Jerry
Shirttails
Bugs Bunny
Alvin and the Chipmunks
Rainbow Brite
GIJoe
Transformers

That list could be longer, but I haven’t got all day! We were cartoon watching fools, weren’t we, at least on Saturdays! I think that’s the problem now, there are cartoons on ALL the time, every day of the week. Saturdays aren’t special anymore, and that makes me a little bit sad.

Anyway, now it’s time to make some breakfast for the munchkins. Hope you all have a wunnerful weekend.

