King Pen has recovered in record time from the Mystery Fever Disease. Which, to be honest, furthers my suspicions that my real husband was replaced several years ago with a robot. The man ain’t normal.

Yesterday, he was holding Chipmunk, making him dance around a little, and sing “Don’t you wish your baby was fat, like me” to the tune of that Pussycat Dolls song. He’s so wrong. But it was funny.

Anyway, no complaining from my end. I’m glad he’s better, because today is his birthday! Happy Birthday, Robot Husband! I love you! (processing, processing…)

So now that everyone is feeling better, I can return to my usual blogging. It’s a rambling kind of day today. Ya with me?

First… we’ve caught a few movies lately. Last night, we watched “Apocalypto”. Wow. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie, though the gore was a bit over the top. (predictable Mel Gibson!) Several scenes I had to cover my eyes, because I did not want the mental image burned into my brain for the rest of my life. And, yeah, there were boobies, which was a bit distracting at first, in a National Geographic kinda way. Once you got adjusted to the occasional topless Mayan, squirting blood, and reading the subtitles, it was a breeze! The storyline was compelling, the acting stellar, and the scenery impressive.

We also watched “The Fountain” the other day, which oddly enough, also had some Mayan elements. It was a beautiful, but perplexing movie. I felt like I was on the brink of understanding it, but not quite “getting it” the entire time. Or I’d get it for just a minute, then it was gone. And no, WonderGirl was not hitting the pipe. It was all crazy on it’s own. Still, a good movie.

Lest you think all we pagans watch are rated “R” movies, we also caught “The Ant Bully” with the kids. It was quite funny! It made me want to hug somebody from the Warner Brothers studio. Good stuff.

In book news, I finished reading “The Moviegoer” by Walker Percy in time for my book club meeting tomorrow night. This book is supposed to be “The Catcher in the Rye” for grown-ups. It’s set in New Orleans , so it was fun to read about familiar places, but it took me a while to get into it. By the end of the book, I was used to his style of writing and could appreciate it more. I’m looking forward to our shindig tomorrow- I’m curious about what everyone else thought, and the wine and cheese is gonna go down great. Booze and books– can’t get much better than that!

The rest of the weekend is going to be busy, too. Saturday, my little sister is supposed to come into town. And Sunday we have dinner at church, and that evening, an old friend is stopping by to visit. And at some point in the weekend, I’ve got to get us packed up to leave for Monroe on Monday. We’ll be crazy busy, but I’m just glad everyone is well now to do it all.

Well, on that note, I suppose I should get started on some stuff around here. Hope you all have a smashing day!

