I don’t watch girl movies, as a general rule. Occasionally, if the opportunity presents itself, I will pile into the car with my sisters or aunts or girlfriends and we’ll go catch a show that the guys wouldn’t want to see. Maybe once or twice a year. It’s more about a Girls Night Out, though. If they’d go get margaritas with me instead, I’d rather do that. Especially if they have chips and that good, white cheese dip.

But every now and then, I feel as if I am missing out on something, and I’ll run out and rent two or three chick flicks. King Pen rolls his eyes, because it never works out the way I think it will.

Well, it hit me this weekend, and I rented “Catch and Release.” I like Jennifer Garner- she’s my girl. She had me at “Alias”. And the back cover of the movie sounded a little like “Hope Floats”, which is one girl movie I enjoyed – so I went for it. I got my Goobers, my Diet Dr. P, put on my comfy clothes, ignored the tortured sighs of my husband, and settled in on the couch for some good girly me time.

Well, I am reminded of just why I quit watching this stuff. It stunk. Like old, moldy leftover casserole in the fridge. I didn’t want to admit it at first- King Pen was clearly wearing his “I told you so” look. I tried to hold out, but he was right. Again. Girl movies bite.

At least I had my goobers, though.

What’s happened to me? Am I missing a chromosome or something? Why can’t I enjoy a goopy movie? Or is it that they make them so poorly that nobody really likes them? Predictable plots, forgettable dialogue, underdeveloped characters. Or have I become one of those people that can’t appreciate a movie unless something blows up in it? I hope that’s not the case.

The next girly-type movie I am really looking forward to is The Time Traveller’s Wife, in 2008. That was such a great book. If only they’d blown up a few more things, it would have been perfect. (Kidding.)

Anyway.

I guess I should get myself in gear. Stuff to do, stuff to do. Movies to watch, yada yada yada. Have a good Tuesday, everybody. Mo’ blogging later.

